BEAUTY: Body wash & Shampoo/Conditioner – Natural products in Japan

Having a look at natural products in Japan. What are the options?

BEAUTY – Body wash & Shampoo/Conditioner – Natural products in Japan.

Since all the products I had brought with me to Japan had come to an end, I decided to begin searching for Japanese products to buy, that were totally organic and natural in ingredients or contained a high amount of both. It seems organic products in Japan are not really distributed and sold at the local drug stores, and if they are they are limited with options. Your best bet is to take a trip to your local, Tokyu Hands, Loft, and Cosme stores to buy such products.

Due to not being able to read Japanese ingredient labels, I did some online researches and came across the brand name PAX, which is under the Taiyo Yushi Corp. cosmetic company line. The company focuses on using edible oils and fats as their main ingredients, and without using synthetic additives in the mix.

I decided to purchase the Pax Olie series first, for the body wash and shampoo/conditioner. It was the choice between this and the Natron range (The Natron range is actually a few hundred Yen cheaper per product). However, so far, so good!

PAX Olie – Body Wash –

The Pax Olie series is good use for sensitive skin types but also serves good moisture overall with no noticeable skin drying issues once dried off.

The body wash comes in foam form as you squeeze it out the dispenser and it is easily distributed across the body with only two pumps needed per shower session. Im am sharing this product with my partner and the bottle we are currently using has lasted us 2 months so far. Although I am super happy with this body wash product, I think I will try the Natron range next, just to see what its like!

PAX Olie – Shampoo –

The Pax Olie shampoo like the body wash, shares a similar smell (light, herby and soapy) and the same foam texture. For a first wash/lather I use about three pumps. Taking in to account that my hair is just up to my shoulders, and is straight medium thickness hair. I think if you had super thick hair you would need to use a lot more. I also feel the shampoo does not strip your hair of oils it actually adds an oil coating to it. So, for thin – medium hair it may not be the best shampoo to use if you want to wear your hair down. But on the plus side, it is good if you wish to style your hair up after washing (maybe in a top knot or something) you don’t need to use much holding/styling products after wards. I like the shampoo for the natural ingredients, price and quality, but for my type of hair it lacks the ability to make it silky and light, it actually adds weight to it. I think it is better suited towards thick hair!

PAX Olie – Conditioner –

The Pax Olie Conditioner, actually came as a surprise to me with its texture & consistency. Its more of a liquid like substance. A little goes a long way and its like adding a watery rinse to your hair for added oil as a treatment rather than for softness and cleansing uses. I think the conditioning value is a lot different to what my hair actually needs and again is best for thicker hair types that need extra coating and oil for their hair. I like the smell of this product, however and overall, I think I’d use this product as an extra adding for moisture when shampooing rather than using it as a conditioner for finishing.

All products from Loft store ranged from about 1000 YEN to 1500 YEN each. Price wise it is very good for the product size and quality.

I enjoy using all of these products, the body wash is just right for my skin – it is nourishing and I like how it feels during and after bathing. However I feel the shampoo and conditioner range isn’t totally for my hair type.

Im interested in trying more of the Pax range and feel I can trust this brand overall. You can buy refill packs when purchasing your next batch which actually come in cheaper in cost instead of having to buy a whole new bottle each time!

Hope this helps you on your search to finding natural ingredient based products in Japan.

Flower x

Link to Taiyo Yushi Corp. web page

  • I do not own the content from the links provided

 

Author: callmeflower

I create NOISEY.VICE feature https://noisey.vice.com/en_uk/article/troy-phoenix-and-the-flower-girl-take-frank-oceans-sound-and-put-it-somewhere-between-tokyo-and-london

Leave a Reply

